The Lord of the Harem is Love (part 2)

omnipotenceGod’s Love is Directional

By its very nature love must be directed toward someone or something. God’s love is not for everything or everyone. At creation He pronounced things “good” He did not day He loved them. His love is directed to His Son, The Believers, and The Sinners.

His Son

Because God is infinite His love for His Son is all transcending and passes all the love of any father for an earthly child.

. . . and lo, a voice from heaven, saying, “This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased.” Matt. 3:17 

He was still speaking, when lo, a bright cloud overshadowed them, and a voice from the cloud said, “This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased; listen to him.” Matt. 17:5

Father, I desire that they also, whom thou hast given me, may be with me where I am, to behold my glory which thou hast given me in thy love for me before the foundation of the world. John 17:24 

The Believers

The love God’s has for believers is everlasting, and is for the believer who believes that Messiah came from the Father. It is familial, for we are family.

. . . the LORD appeared to him from afar. I have loved you with an everlasting love; therefore I have continued my faithfulness to you. Jer. 31:3

. . . for the Father himself loves you, because you have loved me and have believed that I came from the Father. John 16:27 

I in them and thou in me, that they may become perfectly one, so that the world may know that thou hast sent me and hast loved them even as thou hast loved me. John 17:23 

The Sinners

Even though God hates sin He loves sinners, and wants to have a relationship with them, other than their final judge.

While we were still weak, at the right time Christ died for the ungodly. 7 Why, one will hardly die for a righteous man — though perhaps for a good man one will dare even to die. 8 But God shows his love for us in that while we were yet sinners Christ died for us. Rom. 5:6-8

But God, who is rich in mercy, out of the great love with which he loved us, even when we were dead through our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ (by grace you have been saved), Eph. 2:4 -5

Leave a Reply

